Broughty Ferry - Tel : 01382 738406 // Edinburgh - Tel : 0131 228 3943


Regular price £28.99 Sale

Track Listings
1. Yes, I Know
2. Cos-Ber-Zam Ne Noya (Daphni Mix)
3. Ye Ye
4. Light
5. Pairs
6. Ahora
7. Jiao
8. Springs
9. Long

Jiaolong (pronounced JOW-long), an album of shape-shifting work that sits easily with the kinetic likes of Theo Parrish and Floating Points, marks the first full length by Dan Snaith-as-Daphni.

Throughout his six-month global Radiohead support tour, Dan Snaith has fallen deeper in love with the dance floor. Snaith says, "DJs have the potential to blindside you. During the time I was making the Caribou album Swim, I d fallen back in love with moments in small, dark clubs when a DJ puts on a piece of music that not only can you not identify, but that until you heard it you could not have conceived of existing. "

"Electronic instruments are notoriously uncontrollable, unpredictable, and recalcitrant! " Snaith says ruefully. "I ve been building a modular synthesizer, which plays a prominent role on this album. It growls or screams when I don t expect it to. Nudging one dial changes the sound so drastically that I ll never get the original sound back. It s like improvising with another musician, and its voice is all over this music. "

"I ve been surprised by the number of transcendent moments I, sober and in my mid-30s, have had in clubs in the last few years, " Dan says. "There s some magic in it still. The clichés about the collective consciousness of clubs still seems to hold water in some special cases. There is a small world where dance music lives up to its potential to liberate, surprise, and innovate. It s there that I hope Daphni has a place. " Jiaolong is sure to be seen as one of the best records of 2012, both in the dance community and beyond.

Vinyl includes coupon for full