Skip to content

MAC DEMARCO This Old Dog LP Vinyl NEW 2017

Cat no. CT260LP

1. My Old Man
2. This Old Dog
3. Baby You're Out
4. For the First Time
5. One Another
6. Still Beating
7. Sister
8. Dreams from Yesterday
9. A Wolf Who Wears Sheeps Clothes
10. One More Love Song
11. On the Level
12. Moonlight on the River
13. Watching Him Fade Away

It was a little space - in time, location and method - that inspired DeMarco while making his latest record. Moving from his isolated Queens home to a house in Los Angeles helped give the somewhat transient Canada-native a base, and a few more months on his calendar to create did their job as well. Arriving in California with a clutch of demos he’d written in New York, he realized after a few months of setting up his new shop, complete with a few new toys, that the gap was giving him perspective.

Right off the bat, from the pops and clicks of the CR-78 drum machine and acoustic strums on the album-opening My Old Man to the synth-drenched beauty of the title track, it’s clear that DeMarco’s bag is filled with new tricks. This Old Dog is rooted more in a synth-base than any of his previous releases, but he is careful not to let that tactic overshadow the other instruments and overall ‘unplugged’ mood. “This is my acoustic album, but it’s not really an acoustic album at all. That’s just what it feels like, mostly,” he says.